Lead members

The LGA Labour Group officers appoint Labour lead members and teams to LGA member structures.

The LGA Labour Group officers appoint Labour lead members and teams to LGA member structures. The lead members are part of the LGA Labour Group Executive Team. Their role is to establish Labour priorities within their policy and service area with their teams and ensure that this shapes the work of the cross-party LGA.

The lead members are the LGA Labour Group's principle political spokespeople in their respective areas. They lead external work in their policy and service areas on behalf of the LGA Labour Group, at meetings, events and by publishing articles. They also represent Labour local government with shadow ministerial teams to ensure local government's experience and priorities form a core part of Labour's national priorities. 

Full details of each LGA board's membership, meeting dates and work programme for 2020/21.

Our lead members for 2020/21:

Children and Young People Board
Chair: Cllr Judith Blake (Leeds)

City Regions Board
Chair: Sir Richard Leese (Manchester)

Community Wellbeing Board 
Vice Chair: Cllr Paulette Hamilton (Birmingham)

Culture, Tourism and Sport Board
Deputy chair: Clare Coghill (Waltham Forest)

Environment, Economy, Housing and Transport Board
Vice chair: Darren Rodwell (Barking and Dagenham)

Improvement and Innovation Board
Deputy Chair: Cllr Judi Billing (North Herts/Hertfordshire)

People and Places Board
Deputy chair: Cllr Simon Henig (Durham)

Resources Board
Chair: Cllr Richard Watts (Islington)

Safer and Stronger Communities Board
Chair: Cllr Nesil Caliskan (Enfield)

Fire Services Management Committee
Vice chair: Dr Fiona Twycross AM (London)